National Bar Association Announces Top Trailblazers Under 40

WASHINGTON, DC -- The National Bar Association in the spirit of promise and commitment to freedom and true opportunity to all for so ably demonstrated 50 years ago by younger freedom fighters during the summer of 1954, now known as Freedom Summer of 1964, is pleased to announce the Trailblazers Under 40 Awards. For the last four years the National Bar Association has hosted a gala celebration to honor our rising star attorneys under the age of 40. 

In addition to celebrating the selected forty honorees, the National Bar Association will be presenting legacy awards in honor of  Fred Gray, Allie B. Latimer, Forest Johnson and the late Honorable Maynard Jackson to four of the selected honorees —  these prominent awards will be announced during the special awards gala held on July 26, 2014 in Atlanta, Georgia.

The Trailblazers Under 40 Awards honors legal trailblazers who have achieved prominence and distinction in their fields of endeavor — be it the practice of law, academia, business, civic and charitable affairs, the judiciary, or politics — and who have demonstrated a strong commitment to advancing the goals and mission of the National Bar Association.

“The National Bar Association is comprised of hundreds of capable and accomplished attorneys,” said Patricia Rosier, President of the National Bar Association. “We are proud of all of our members, particularly this distinguished group of young attorneys who are rising in the ranks of their profession that are preparing to receive the torch of civil rights,” said Rosier.

The National Bar Association will honor awardees during the Trailblazers Under 40 Gala on July 26, 2014 at 7 p.m. in Atlanta, Georgia during the organizations 89th Annual Convention and Exhibits.

Yendelela Neely Anderson, Kilpatrick Townsend & Stockton LLP
Nicholas K.  Austin, Foley & Lardner LLP
Shatorree Bates, Bates Law Firm LLC 
Kathlyn Card-Beckles, JP Morgan Chase
Tillman Breckenridge, Reed Smith LLP 
Kendra Brown, US House of Representatives
Jamie Boston, United States Army Judge Advocate General’s Corps
Rodney D. Bullard, Chick-fil-A Foundation  
Leigh Chapman, Advancement Project  
Cometria Cooper, University of San Francisco, School of Law
Robert Collier, PreCash, Inc.
Diallo Crenshaw, Sughrue Mion PLLC
Tricia Duthiers, Liebler, Gonzalez, & Portuondo P.A.
Jaliya Stewart Faulkner, Sutherland, Asbill & Brennan LLP
Gerrard L. Grant, City of Atlanta 
Keir Gumbs, Convington & Burling LLP
Oneisha Herring, Center for Responsible Lending
Kendra Howard, US Equal Employment Opportunity Commission
Honorable Asha Jackson, DeKalb County, Georgia
Jermaine L. Kidd, Ogletree, Deakins, Nash, Smoak & Stewart, P.C 
Dionna Lewis, DC Superior Court
John Mathews II, United States Attorneys Office, District of Puerto Rico 
William McCaskill, The Law Office of William C. McCaskill PLLC
Kenyan R. McDuffie, Council of the District of Columbia, Ward 5
Michael Mills, Law Offices of Michael A. Mills, LLC
Michelle Mitchell, Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP
Carlos Moore, Moore Law Offices PLLC
John Moore, The Moore Law Group, LLC
David L. Morrow II, BuckleySandler LLP 
Philip Person, Manatt, Phelps & Phillips, LLP
Shannon Redd, DC Bar Pro Bono Program
Lani P. Shaw, Office of the Comptroller of the Currency
Justin G. Tanner, US Small Business Administration
Michelle Thomas, M.C. Thomas & Associates
Ellisen Turner, Irell & Manella LLP
Tamiko Walker, Department of the Navy's Office of the General Counsel
Sasha Watson, Hylton Adamson Watson PLLC
Barenton J. Whisenant, Jr., Foley & Mansfield
Michael L. Whitlock, Bingham McCutchen LLP
Kwamina Thomas Willford, Holland & Knight LLP


Carlos Moore Named Lawyer of the Year -Click Here to Read More